Who to ask for LOR-it's complicated

Sueño2014

I've been teaching Adult ESL/EFL for the past 10 years, love the field, and want to start grad school Fall 2015.  It looks like many MA TESOL programs are ok with all professional LORs, and I have great professional references so that wouldn’t be hard. The problem is that I don’t want to study in a professional program that focuses on pedagogy and just briefly covers theory, which is what many MA TESOL programs seem to do. I want some serious brain food from a good program that studies SLA in depth (ie MA Ling/Applied Ling/SLA).  The more serious programs require academic LORs.

That isn’t easy since I graduated from university (foreign language degree) 17 years ago and was a pretty underwhelming undergrad student.  I entered school with good SATs, a few scholarships, and tested into the top 2% of all incoming freshman on my foreign language exam.  However, I did not do my best in my classes and finished with only a 3.4 GPA (major and overall).

I’m worried that none of my professors will be able to write me a strong LOR.   I turned down some opportunities as an undergrad, which I’m sure made me look like a less-than-motivated student.  I was a first-generation college student and was pretty clueless about how to succeed in college.  Also, my family issues were so overwhelming that I considered dropping out of school several times.  Most of college was about just doing my best to try to focus on school and not worry about family drama; I didn’t have the emotional resources for anything extra. I never talked to my profs about this b/c I didn’t want to sound like I was making excuses.

So…with that said, here are some people I was considering asking for references: