US MA in English vs. UK MSt/MPhil

Hi all,

I have been rejected this application season from all the Ph.D. programs to which I applied, but was accepted to the terminal MA program at UVa (a great option, to be sure). I am considering taking a year off and applying to the MPhil in modern and contemporary lit at Cambridge and to a similar program at Oxford. What are the drawbacks to heading straight to UVa? And, tangentially, how rigid are GPA requirements at the aforementioned schools? I graduated from a top ten school, albeit with a 3.6 overall and 3.77 major GPA. Would it be smarter to wait and then matriculate to programs in the UK? For your information, my field of interest is British modernism.

Thanks so much!

An MPhil is a much stronger degree than an MA.

Generally MAs in the UK are "taught" degrees, meaning you take courses and write a dissertation at the end, usually in one year, earning the equivalent of about 90 ECTS in countries that use the Bologna system. 

An MPhil usually has a much stronger research component and shows greater autonomy. In every case I would take the chance to do the MPhil rather than a terminal MA -- unless you got funding at UV?

Generally MAs in the UK are "taught" degrees, meaning you take courses and write a dissertation at the end, usually in one year, earning the equivalent of about 90 ECTS in countries that use the Bologna system. 

An MPhil usually has a much stronger research component and shows greater autonomy. In every case I would take the chance to do the MPhil rather than a terminal MA -- unless you got funding at UV?

A Cambridge MPhil is just the same as an MA elsewhere, it's just called that because of the practice of awarding MAs to Cambridge BAs a certain length of time after matriculation, without any further work. There is the same issue at Oxford, which is why their English MAs are called MSts.