Question about CUNY Phd

Gaius12

Hello eveyone!

I'm new to gradcafe, but I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice. I was recently admitted to a relatively lowly ranked Phd program (~50-70 in US News), and it was the only one that accepted me. I feel that my research interests line up fairly well with at least two of the professors in my subfield, but I worry greatly about being able to get a job after graduation. My undergraduate stats were pretty good (~3.58 GPA, 166V/159Q GRE with high thesis honors), so what are peoples thoughts about accepting the funded offer at this school, and potentially leaving after getting the terminal MA to apply at a higher ranked program, provided I do not end up loving the school of course? Do you think that one can make up for getting a PhD from a school with less name recognition by being productive research-wise?

Thanks!

1)  a)What are peoples thoughts about accepting the funded offer at this school, and  

b )potentially leaving after getting the terminal MA to apply at a higher ranked program, provided I do not end up loving the school of course?

2)Do you think that one can make up for getting a PhD from a school with less name recognition by being productive research-wise?

1)

a)Think about what kind of jobs you would be aiming for. What kind of jobs would make you happy? I am sure CUNY PhDs get jobs, there are schools lower ranked than CUNY and their students get jobs as well. It is not a walk in the park though, not at all. More students fail to place than those who do. Job market is tough for everyone for all jobs, and it gets tougher as you move away from the top of the list. But people do find stuff. Go and check if those jobs are the kind of jobs that would be in line with your expectations, and decide based on that.