Delaware 2009 anybody going or living there?

hotlatte

As a native of the tiny first state, I would be happy to answer any and all questions about Newark. The only thing I know about the actual school, though, is what the campus looks like/that some of the buildings are easy to get into, but difficult to escape from.

I'll be going there in the fall, and had a chance to visit the school last month. I'm originally from a small town so I liked Newark. Also, the proximity to Philly, NYC, Bmore, DC, etc. cannot be beat. The campus reminded me of my own undergrad school, ie all the buildings look similar (Georgian architecture), but taken as a whole, the campus is very pretty. Also, from my own searching, rents for apartments seem pretty reasonable for the region, and are definitely much cheaper than the DC (Northern VA or southern Maryland) area, or the New York area.

Hi all,

I'm currently a first-year graduate student at UD and can answer any questions.

As previous posters mentioned, Newark is very small (and rather unattractive - but the campus is not), but close to other major metropolitan areas - you get the benefits of the cities for day trips and research, without the same amount of congestion. I've had a very positive experience at UD. The faculty and my colleagues are friendly and helpful, and the president is committed to making the school a better place for graduate studies.

Thanks katreese. I saw your post at the city guide as well. Now I'm still waiting for the I-20 from UD to apply for the visa. I heard that DE doesn't put a tax on commodities. What should I bring and what should I buy there?

Thanks katreese. I saw your post at the city guide as well. Now I'm still waiting for the I-20 from UD to apply for the visa. I heard that DE doesn't put a tax on commodities. What should I bring and what should I buy there?