Advice for Masters in IR 2015?

DKJ87

Hi y'all!

I'm currently an undergraduate senior and I'm hoping to apply to a masters IR program in 2015, and I would really appreciate some advice and making an all around competitive application. My dream program is at SAIS, but it seems like a shot in the dark. I'm new to this whole process, so any advice would be really welcomed. I'm hoping to ultimately work as an FSO for State in the Political or Econ track, or as an FSO for USAID. 

- Undergrad at a Florida public university, nothing special ranking wise.

- Political Science major, history and IR double minor

- 3.60 GPA (Hoping to bring it up to a 3.65 by the time I graduate), 3.77 Upper levels GPA

- A Presidential Scholar Award, two study abroad scholarships, and a grant for a directed independent study with a Professor

- A published foreign affairs article in local newspaper 

- Deans List for four semesters

- 5 econ courses 

- International Studies Association Member, World Affairs Council member, Alpha Chi Omega sorority, Pi Sigma Alpha political science honors 

- City government Economic Development internship with the mayor

- U.S State Department economic intern in Moscow

- Studied abroad in Russia for a semester

- I speak a conversational amount of Russian, and I emigrated from Belarus so a conversational amount of Belarusian as well. 

- Doing a DIS with a former UN Ambassador on the economic aspects of Russia's oil and natural gas industry

I haven't taken the GRE yet, but I'm pretty good with standardized tests and have been studying for awhile already. 

I'm looking to graduate in the Summer or Fall, and I'd like to have another internship or two before I apply, but it would probably be in the office of my senator/representative. Some people have told me to wait it out and get a job first, while others have told me to just go ahead and apply. Any tips or advice on other good schools to look at would be really great! Thank you!