Help! PhD in global health systems at Tulane or epidemiology at U Florida??

jball2

I've been accepted to Tulane GHSD for a PhD where I would work with their malaria group on projects related to intervention and health systems evaluation. They do not have funding to offer me a tuition waiver, but do have funds for a stipend to cover living expenses. I love the work that they do and I think I can see myself doing program evaluation work for a career. I did my undergraduate degree at Tulane, I love New Orleans, and I would be working with the professor who got me interested in public health in the first place

I've also been accepted for University of Florida for a PhD in Epidemiology. I have funding (tuition and stipend) for at least another 2 years (I am already a graduate student here, not in th College of Public Health and Health Professions), and it is likely renewable. I wouldn't likely be doing applied research. I'm getting involved with multiple projects here, including getting written in on a grant. I'm interning at an NIH NIAID lab this summer to foster a collaboration between my boss at UF (who would be my PhD advisor) and the PI at NIAID, which could also turn into a dissertation topic. I'm sure that if I were to go to Tulane that I could still work on this, but it has nothing to do with malaria and would not be a viable dissertation topic for GHSD.

Benefits of Tulane:

Working directly with the people whose careers I wanted to have when I was in undergrad--can be easily re-integrated into the department

I would be working towards a professional niche

Moving back to New Orleans

Strong and highly ranked program

Lots of opportunities for field work in Africa and other countries

Doing an applied, program evaluation dissertation project

Drawbacks of Tulane:

No tuition waiver, only funding for a stipend (not sure how much that would be)--> Loans