Online MPH Programs

plumbunnie

Hi all - if you've been stalking this site like I have, you may have seen me! I apologize if there's already a thread on this but I tried searching and could not find anything distinctive. 

My questions (in no particular order):

- Have you applied to an online/on-campus MPH program? If so, which schools? (include specialization if desired)

- Why are you considering/completing it online? (E.g. Due to relocation factors, concurrent employment, etc.)

- Those who are completing an online MPH program now, how do you find it

(My answers: I applied to Berkeley (admitted) and Waterloo (pending); I'm considering online due to relocation costs and I may be starting a new job after graduation in April, so part-time online would be easiest)

Thanks everyone - you've all been great support and good luck with applications!!

HI.  I graduated last August from an online/on campus MPH program at San Jose State University with a specialization in Community Health Education.  I wanted an online program so as not to relocate, I was finishing up a job as an Executive Director, and a number of other reasons.  I always advice people if you are looking for an online program:  a) make sure there are on campus residencies; B) that it is cohort based; and c) it offers a substantial amount of synchronous online teaching.   I loved the program, many of us remain close friends because we were a single cohort together for 2 years, and I found it to be quite manageable.  Obviously some courses will take more out of you than others.  Although I got an A+ in biostats, I had to spend a lot of time getting there :)  The cohort based on campus/online format really made me feel a part of the school and I developed excellent relationships with the faculty.