Art Conservation-Laboratory Scientist

qiscake

Hi all, 

I am looking to go into the field of art conservation, particularly working as a scientist in one of the conservation labs. I figure the best way to get into the field is going through one of the four conservation programs in the U.S. I have a undergraduate and a Master's degree in Chemistry, as well as a solid porfolio in studio art. I am currently working on my art history requirement and hopefully get some experience in conservation lab at the same time. I know that the NYU-IFA program has a language requirement, which I am currently working on in French.

Since I am not extremely familiar with this field, I would love to hear from someone who is either accepted into a conservation program or working in the conservation field, of whether if I am on the right track to apply for an art conservation program. Also, is this a traditional way to be involved as a research scientist in a conservation field?

Thank you!

Hi!

I'm actually not doing conservation, but I do have some friends working on it.  It sounds like you are actually doing pretty good so far, but you are going to need more art history under your belt, I think.  Not to be creepy, but it looks like you are in Ann Arbor; I would suggest going and talking to Alex Potts in the art history department.  He would certainly help you out.  The UMMA has some conservation stuff going on as well on the second floor and I am sure someone there would talk to you.  If I were you I would also look into the conservation program at U Delaware--it is excellent.  Good Luck!!

• 2 weeks later...

Hi there! I worked as a tech in a conservation lab for 3 years and looked into going to school (and ultimately ended up doing something else)- I know basically everything about this stuff and have a ton of friends in the field.