University of Michigan SPH

I applied for UM, Harvard, UNC, Emory and Columbia and was admitted to all.  I'm trying to decide where to go.  Any last minute advice for a General Epid MPH?  My experience, from Admitted Student Day and staff, has been the best at UM, but its so cold!

1- advice on which program to chose?

2- how was your experience applying to any of these schools?  sometimes that's very telling as well.

I have several friends/coworkers who went to UM SPH and were not impressed by the quality of classes. They did say the networking and career opportunities were great, though.  I went to UM for my undergrad actually and love the school, but didn't apply for there for my MPH. I saw someone else's post that there were many grads from Columbia who were having trouble finding jobs. if cost is not an issue, then I think the Harvard is the way to go.

I am just finishing up my general epid MPH at UMSPH.  I am a dual degree student, so my experience might not be typical; nevertheless, I thoroughly enjoyed all of my epid classes and felt like I got a great education for an unbeatable price.  I originally debated between Columbia and UM, and I am so glad I chose UM because now I am not burdened by huge amounts of debt from NYC's high cost of living.  Generally, people seem to respect the UMSPH brand and I don't feel at all like I'm missing out on opportunities because it's not an Ivy.  I stayed academic with my extracurriculars by becoming a member of a bunch of academic service committees, but I am always surprised at the diversity of what students are doing.  There is a way to get involved in whatever aspect of public health you care about (nutrition, air quality regulations, patient empowerment, etc).  Although I am not personally going into public health practice, I believe Michigan's connection to that world helps keep it grounded and focused on what we can do right now to improve population health.