European PhD in History

starrydynamo

I'm currently pursuing my Masters in History at an American university and have been considering where to complete my PhD - also in History (History of Science during the Italian Renaissance to be specific).

Do any Americans have experience with getting a History PhD abroad? I was looking at the European University Institute in Florence. Does anyone have experience with that university specifically? Or could you recommend any others?

Thanks.

I did my undergrad and masters in the US, and I'm in the UK currently.  When you're doing your degree outside the US, keep in mind that you will have to get and live by a visa -- your ability to work outside school will be limited.  If you have a Direct Loan, you will have to keep an eye on the exchange rate -- for example, the pound has gone up 8 cents  since I got my loan organized last summer.  I'll have to take out a larger one to continue studies -- not the end of the world, but! it's a drag. 

You're also going to need to be a self-starter who can write under pressure -- Euro/UK PhDs are done in 3-5 years (5 for medical duress) because you are literally dropped in to the writing phase, while the US typically requires you to take courses and then write, for a total of 5-7 years.  If you have your act together already and have a strong direction for what you want to do with your PhD -- not to mention someone on the other side that is totally into it (and the two of you have a shared language!) -- then I would recommend it.