Geography PhD program at Oxford / Cambridge

DavePark

Guys,

I am a newbie here.. Just took my GRE today!  Found this site while looking up my score (v166, q161 essay pending).  I am interested in pursuing a PhD in Geography at Oxford or Cambridge, and was wondering if anyone in this cafe had experiences, or had informed opinions on the programs offered at these two schools.  I will be sponsored by a US government scholarship, so funding is no issue.  I know GRE doesn't count for Oxbridge, but I took it in case I end up choosing an American program.  My undergrad major was international politics at Georgetown, and my 1st MA was Security Studies, also at Georgetown.  My second MA was from Army Command and General Staff College, called, Master of Military Arts and Sciences.  So my weakness is that I have no formal education in geography whatsoever..  Any helpful advice would be appreciated!

Dave Park

Hi Dave,

I applied to several US institutions and Oxford. I was only accepted to the latter, so that's where I'll being going for an MPhil in the fall, and I can only give you input on Oxford, not Cambridge.