Advice for an undergrad in communication disorders?

I'm currently in my first year of prenursing and plan to switch my major and schools for communication disorders at CSUN. Anyone who was a communication disorders major for speech path, any advice on what to expect? How tough is the coursework? Is it more on memorization? I'm really interested in this career and I can't seem to find info on what being a cd major is like. Thank you!!

Honestly, I think if you go into this with "memorization" as they key, you will not do well. This field is all application, which is why I love it. You'll learn the anatomy-and then you'll learn the way it can influence you. You'll learn phonetics-and then use it while giving evaluations. You'll learn to do therapy, which you can't make up/memorize-it's all yourself. You'll learn about all the disorders that you will, at some point encounter. I think if you go into this field prepared to use the things you learn, and can make application to how it'll be in real life, it'll help you go far :)

The coursework is "easy" for me, but only because I'm all about applying it to real life-things like history, which are more memorization, are not at all my strength.

As she said, memorization only gets you so far. The course work is varied and interesting though. Some classes, like language development, might be more memorization about milestones and such, but others you actually take what you learn and apply it to other concepts... but don't let that scare you. It's more like getting the foundation then adding onto it to see how changes in the foundation can relate to different disorders. You won't have microbiology or other crazy courses like nursing would have you take though... which I see as a plus. Once in grad school you can really look more into the different aspects of SLP and see which one you like more. That's another thing I love about SLP-- the variety!