I'm currently a 2nd-year statistics PhD student at a top 25-30 program.  I don't have an advisor yet and I have doubts about continuing my program.  I have passed my preliminary exams, and will be done with all of my PhD core courses and electives after this Spring term.

In my program, it's common for domestic students to choose to take the theoretical core series in their 2nd year and thus take their prelims in the middle of their 2nd year.  I took my prelim a little over a month ago and felt lucky/happy to have passed (this year, most domestic students need to retake the exam), but for some reason, I don't feel like staying.  I feel anxious and unmotivated in my classes because I don't have a direction nor possible advisors I could see myself working with. There is one person in my department whom I feel believes in me very much and would be excited to have me as his student, and that's something I really appreciate, but I'm concerned that my interests in statistics do not match with his.  Those whom I think have similar interests (theoretical statistics) would not want me as their student (trust me on this - I have good reasons for this intuition, which I won't elaborate on).  I thought about have faculty in the math department as an advisor, but in reality, I do not have the math background for that.  

Lately, I wonder if I even like statistics that much.  I originally got into it during undergrad because I didn't think I was good enough for math, and I learned to enjoy some parts of statistics during graduate school.  Even though I have only taken one IEOR class in undergrad, I always thought Operations Research was an interesting field.  Anyway, I have been pondering the following options:

1) Drop to a Master's and get a job as a statistician (at Master's level) in a research institute

2) Apply to some Operations Research PhD programs the following year - but I worry about getting recs due to my dropping out of my program