Classics advice

archer

Hello,

I am a sophomore majoring in history and anthropology. I hope to go to grad school for Byzantine archaeology, and a strong background in Classical languages (especially Greek) will be needed. However, my school only offers Latin I & II (which I will be taking next year) and no Greek at all. I've looked into Post-bac programs for Classical languages, but they all seem to be courses to strengthen and advance the skills of students who have already taken beginning/intermediate courses. Are there master's programs in Classics that will accept students with no language experience and teach them? It seems like my only options are to transfer to a school that has a Classics program or get another bachelor's in Classics after I graduate - and neither option seems particularly appealing to me.

So, I'm looking for a Hail Mary pass - a master's program for Classics that will teach me Greek when I get there, and doesn't expect me to know it to get in. :) Any advice would be very greatly appreciated.

I would suggest something else...have you considered studying abroad? A semester or year abroad would give you the opportunity to pick up more Latin and possibly Greek as well, in addition to being an awesome experience. Failing that, I would consult the instructor of Latin at your college and see if you could take upper-level Latin courses as independent studies.

I would also recommend looking into a field school, if you don't have archaeology experience. I particularly recommend a dig in Cyprus I participated in, as it's completely free for participants (including airfare!) and gives a good background in Byzantine art/archaeology.

http://www.davidson.edu/academic/classi ... chool.html

Don't forget to pick up French and German somewhere along the way!