UCLA GSEIS *or* SSCE 2014

Would be great to see some others here who are involved with:

* GSEIS (Graduate School of Education and Information Studies) 

and/or the 

* SSCE (Social Sciences and Comparative Education) Division

hence,  this new thread. :)

I will be coming in as a Master's student in SSCE, sub-specialization in Cultural Studies (it's very media oriented). Currently wondering what to roughly, possibly base my thesis on. Am gearing up to contact my advisor ahead of time. But am still getting up to speed on grad student etiquette, just want to be considerate of how and when is the best way to correspond. :) Worked hard to get into my dream program, don't want to mess anything up. A tad nervous. Maybe even shy!

I am an undergraduate at UCLA interested in SSCE, but I don't know if my application is strong enough. What are some things you recommend? Sorry I know it's unrelated to your question.

natxio, have you met with any of the SSCE faculty? That would be a good place to start. It's a really interdisciplinary program, so what would really strengthen your application is a good match with one of the faculty members (and this is true of any graduate program). I'm not sure how much weight they put on GPA or GRE. There were a few grads in my cohort that went directly from their UCLA Bachelors into the program.

If you don't mind me asking, why are you interested in SSCE and not the Teacher Educaiton Program? Is your goal teaching, educational research, social work, or something else?