MA/PhD application after 5 years working

SNS1011

Hi Everyone -

I have a semi-unconventional sort of situation I'd like to share, and hopefully get some guidance as I begin the process of getting back into the art world and applying for MA programs (with the hope of going on to PhD).  My area of concentration is Italian Baroque - I'm essentially interested in the art markets of that time - systems of patronage, etc etc.  

I graduated from Duke in 2009 with a degree in Art History (~3.8 major GPA, ~3.2 overall GPA - I had dabbled in a few other classes that didn't go so well).  From there on out, my path has been a little bit unconventional for an ARH graduate.  After spending a year teaching at a small learning center, I went on to pursue a Master of Accounting, and have spent the past 3 years working in not-for-profit auditing and accounting.  While it's been nice to have the income, and I've been fortunate to have some clients in the art world, I've given it enough of a chance to know that it's really not for me.  I've always been a learner, a researcher, and a writer and miss the passion I had for my Art History studies - Needless to say, at the age of 26 I am really feeling the pull to get back into academia and make it my lifelong career.  I'm also prepared for the income loss (After paying DC rent for 3 years I feel like I'm already living on stipend) and the difficulties of finding a teaching position - It's worth it to me to do something I love.

I've set a goal of entering a MA program by Fall of 2016.  I'm not sure I'll be prepared to any sooner - I need to retake the GRE since my scores have expired, and would like to take a few classes at my local university as a refresher.  I think an MA is my only realistic choice since it has been 5 or so years outside of school and I haven't been working in the field - I'd like the opportunity put out a solid master's thesis to make myself a candidate at some of the strongest PhD programs.