Elite MPA and Political Leanings

faust

Hi all. I'm a recent college grad considering an MPA program in the future and am wondering if working for conservative organizations will in any way affect my chances of admission to the top programs.

I've looked over the WWS student bios and have noticed that their work experience tends to be non-partisan or left-leaning. Right now I'm working on a political campaign for a Republican candidate and am worried (perhaps paranoid) that it might adversely affect me.

Sorry if this has been covered before. I've only briefly lurked this place.

I don't at all think that it will hurt you in admissions. Most schools, especially the elite programs, are looking to fill a diverse class where the students can learn from each other, and my guess is having work experience that differs from the rest of the applicants can only help you.

I think the main reason it seems that MPP/MPA students are overwhelmingly left leaning is self-selection. I have plenty of right leaning friends who work in politics/government, but for whatever reason, very few of them apply to MPP/MPA programs and instead tend to lean towards law school. Anecdotally small sample size, so take it with a grain of salt.

I agree with albuhhh that it's probably self-selection.  When I did my MPA at Syracuse most students were left-leaning politically (including myself), but we had a couple of conservative students who added greatly to classroom discussions.  I wish there had been more.

• 1 month later...

Not to bump this thread but I had many of the same concerns as the OP.

As similar to him/her I am on the staff of a Senate candidate running for a seat in this years Midterm elections as my first actual paying job. Previously, I have also ether volunteered or interned for GOP candidates in the past. In addition to my other professional experiences(which also tend to be conservative leaning)