philosophy or political science

readeatsleep

hello all, id like to plumb your soft supple heads for advice.

i am a masters student in a philosophy program; i studied philosophy and political theory (and history) as an undergraduate and did very well. i will be doing the application dance this summer to look for a phd program.

i am interested in the history of social and political theory, recognition and personal identity, critical theory, the frankfurt school, hannah arendt, nietzsche, hegel, rousseau, etc.

should i be in a political science phd or philosophy? lately ive been leaning towards political science since ive been disenchanted by philosophy - too much speculation, too much useless phenomenology, to much professionalization. on the other hand, i think id like to eventually teach in a philosophy department, as i feel like that would give me free reign to pursue my interests. i imagine i could be the political philosopher of a department one day, and do hegel as well. however, i feel like one cant really specialize in philosophy if they want a job - id need to study a bunch of other topics that arent interesting to me (epistemology, metaphysics). additionally, where would i go to study social thought in a philosophy department?

but a political science phd would allow me to study social and poltical thought more closely as a graduate student, and learn more about the discipline as a whole. however, im not that excited about the mandatory classes in two other subfields outside of theory that seems to be standard at all good programs. on the other hand, the political theory job market, despite being so miserable, might actually be better than the philosophy job market.

so, what do you all think? i was planning on applying to the top 10 or 12 programs in each disicpline that i would be happy at, but thats like, $1,500 in application fees! so im haoping maybe i can cut that number in half by choosing a discipline.

thanks everyone.

• 1 month later...