Rising sophomore is seeking advice..HELP!

microbecode01

Hello!

I am a rising sophomore with double-major (intended) in the microbiology and chemistry (or mathematics).  My future plan is to complete my education up to the Ph.D program in either bacteriology or virology and become a researcher in the field of medical microbiology.  I wrote this post to seek advice because I have a couple of problems...first of all, my freshman year GPA was disastrous..it is currently 2.80.  I am really curious if the freshman GPA has a great impact on the applications for the graduate programs.  I know that the freshman GPA impacts the overall GPA, but I am wondering if the freshman GPA is considered greatly by the admission committee.  This is my absolute fault since I cared more on doing the research and part-time jobs, but I learned how to effectively manage my time.  I had been working in the microbiological research lab that focuses on the metabolomics analysis via HPLC-MS.  I recently left that lab (with good impression) because the research was focused on the environmental/industrial microbiology and not the fields of medical microbiology.  I joined the organic-chemistry lab that focuses on the antibiotics research and the pathogenic bacteria, which is my exact interest.  Is it okay to work in the chemistry lab even though my research interest is on the biological field? Although it is a chemistry lab, the research focus is on the applications of the organic chemistry in the fields of virology and bacteriology, those research topics really fascinates me very much.  In that lab, I will be trained as a organic chemist than the microbiology...is this viewed as unfavorably when applying for the microbiology-related Ph.D program?  I recently was elected as the president for my university's microbiology club...is this also good for the graduate programs application?  I apologize if I sounded like I care only for the applications, but I am kind of hysterical after receiving my fre