How to a Math program without Math degree

zygote

Hi,

So I'm interested in applying to an applied math PhD program somewhere .. or at least a Master's followed by a PhD.

The problem is that I haven't any degrees in the subject. I have an undergrad and a master's in computer science. My undergraduate math grades are not amazing (about ~2.75) but my CS grades are around ~3.8. My CS grades in the master's program are 4.0.

The thing is that I didn't get math when I was an undergrad, but I do now. My master's has been intensely mathematical, and I want to go on to work in mathematical statistics.

I really love working in this area. I don't have any research experience in Math, but I do have theses in computer science.

How do I get into a Math PhD program without a Math degree?

Thanks.

You sound like you'd be great looking into something like data mining or statistical computing.

What statistics courses have you taken so far? Many Universities don't offer an undergraduate degree in Statistics, so many applicants have related degrees (Math, CS, Econ) with plenty of stats courses on the side.

I'd recommend (assuming you already have the pure math courses from your CS studies) to take several statistics graduate courses as a non-degree student (a mathematical statistics course at the graduate level? A calculus based regression and linear modeling class?) to demonstrate your preparadeness in the field. Then set out to rock that statement of purpose - tell them why doing mathematical statistics is what you *really* want to do.

What level of schools are you looking at applying to? Any specific schools?