The Answer to Academic Envy

natebassett

Last year I applied to several programs in Communications and Media Studies. I have a Master's from The New School and I felt like my research, work and recommenders were very strong, although my GRE scores could have been better. Since spring, I have been frustrated since I failed to get into many of my top picks. I am fortunate that I got a good offer and will be starting somewhere in August with a great assistantship, but I was still feeling envious and upset with myself. "Why didn't I get into this school?" I ask myself. While waiting for responses, I became upset every time I saw another potential student get a positive reply from one of "my" schools. I felt hurt by their good fortunate - I couldn't feel good for them because I was so upset for myself. This has bothered me on and off for months now and I did not have a good answer until today. 

I was reading this article, and this bit struck me: 

"academia works by envy and to adjust oneself accordingly. Even as the premises grow increasingly unlikely, let us pretend. You have (1) a job interview, (2) another job interview, and (3) an offer from no. 1. Proceed thus: tell no. 2 that you have an offer. This exponentially increases your chance of getting a second job offer. Once someone sees someone else desiring you, you become more desirable. If you have a second offer it is even easier to get a third one. And so on. There is doubtless an envy algorithm."