University Selection :: Best Universities to get into Microsoft ?

ahmadka

Hi guys ... So I have this question related to choosing universities. I could've sworn there was a section here specifically for university selection. Where did it go ??

Anyways, I have a (somewhat clichéd) goal of entering Microsoft as a software engineer. So I want to try and choose some universities for MS in Computer Science which will maximize my chances for entering Microsoft.

I heard (I think from a Microsoft employee once) that there are certain universities which are affiliated with Microsoft, and students from those universities can directly enter Microsoft without any formal interviews !? Is this true ? Anyone know which universities are those ? I think University of Toronto was one which I was told, but I'm not certain.

Note that I have an Undergrad degree in Comp Engg, and a Masters in Comp Engg from Georgia Tech (via Fulbright). However I now want to do CS as well to maximize my chances.

Edited by ahmadka

It doesn't make sense to me why you want two Master's degrees. If you want to maximize your chances, I'd suggest more along the lines of getting experience. I think Google offers some internships, but you would have to look into that.

I'm not in your field, but I thought I;d give an outsider's view.

It doesn't make sense to me why you want two Master's degrees. If you want to maximize your chances, I'd suggest more along the lines of getting experience. I think Google offers some internships, but you would have to look into that.

I'm not in your field, but I thought I;d give an outsider's view.

That's actually a good question. There are several reasons reasons behind the idea of getting a second Masters: