Getting Experience after Undergraduate Degree. Thoughts?

Epoh

Hey so I am a recent arts graduate who majored in psychology that is looking to apply to clinical psych PhD programs in the United States (from Canada). I don't intend to apply to more than 5 or 6 PhD programs because it seems like my chances coming out of undergrad are quite slim, despite the fact I have 2 years of research experience. So, I'm in a bit of a dilemma which I'm hoping some people can help me out with here. At my university in Canada there aren't many paid RA positions, and I've gathered enough experience with the two supervisors who share the same interests as me. I am interested in anxiety and depression, and integrating neurobiological and cognitive perspectives in these disorders to understand risk markers. My question:

What options do I have for paid research in Canada or the United States? Is most post-bacc research in the US volunteer work? I am willing to move if I have to. Or, am I better off applying for some master's programs in the US (my own preference) and going that route assuming I don't get into the PhD programs I apply for? If anyone knows some labs relating to my interests in anxiety and depression, or can point me in the right direction I'd appreciate it.

I am currently in the same boat, but I have found it easy to find paid research positions that schools are taking applications for.  Most, however, are not really that close to where I live.  But schools such as Indiana University, which is near me, have school of medicine departments that perform a lot of research, and are constantly hiring assistants and technicians to work in clinical and non-clinical labs.  I have had several in-person interviews for clinical research positions, although I have been unsuccessful thus far.