Realistic Chances?

grad101

Dear Gradcafe readers,

First of all, thanks for reading my post and for all the greatful advice you provide. I recently found this forum and I feel its a very helpful resource for graduate school prospective applicants.

Like everyone else, I have few questions regarding the process and it would be great to know people's opinion. I graduated from top 20 public university last year (May 2008) with a BS in Biology (specifically, Neurobiology/Physiology). I have few years of research experience. I worked one summer at NIH, also worked for a year in a faculty molecular biology lab working on finding the role of a specific protein in the cellular machinery. I am currently employed as a research associate in an immunology lab where I work to test the TB vaccines on animal samples. I am looking into applying for PhD programs either in Immunology or Molecular Biology for fall 2010. I have a fairly average GPA (3.5). I have yet to give my GRE's. What are the score ranges I should be targeting at if I wanted to apply to good programs/schools (U Mich, Northwestern, Weill, WUSTL, UCSF, etc.). My diagnostic test score was around 1200. So, I am looking to raise at least 200 more points with learning extensive vocab for the verbal section and doing as much practice on math section. Math is pretty learnable. Its the verbal I am having hard time with. Are there any tips or strategies I can use to increase my verbal score?

Do you guys think I have a realistic chance at these schools? Or is my GPA on the low side to be even considered? What should I do to increase my application credentials?

Thanks a lot in advance for your advice.

Your GPA is fine. Your research experience is a huge plus. And a GRE score over 1200 would be solid, but 1400+ would be outstanding. How are your LORs gonna be?