Admissions -- what do they look for?

lonelily22

Hi everyone! I really could use some advice.

I graduated last Fall from UCSD with my B.S. in Human Biology . Upon graduation, I turned down a pretty big corporate job (and sadly a nice paycheck) as an analyst to pursue my interests in health research. I now volunteer part time as a research assistant for a professor and her PhD students in a study on health risk factors in obese populations (I have to waitress in my free time to make ends meet). Despite the lack of pay, the work is very interesting and I enjoy it.

Anyway, I plan to apply to graduate school next year and focus on health promotion & behavioral science. My question is- will graduate schools look down on the fact that I'm not work a single full time paid position? I learn a lot through as an assistant and it relates very well to what I'd like to do in the future. Plus, I can get some great recommendations from the professor and her students. But still, I'm worried that schools might be looking for more "professional" experience.

If I could get a full-time paid position in public health, I would. Sadly those entry level opportunities are fairly nonexistent for students who don't have higher degrees.

Feedback/suggestions would be HIGHLY appreciated!!

Hi everyone! I really could use some advice.

I graduated last Fall from UCSD with my B.S. in Human Biology . Upon graduation, I turned down a pretty big corporate job (and sadly a nice paycheck) as an analyst to pursue my interests in health research. I now volunteer part time as a research assistant for a professor and her PhD students in a study on health risk factors in obese populations (I have to waitress in my free time to make ends meet). Despite the lack of pay, the work is very interesting and I enjoy it.