Transfer Programs?

lostine

Has anyone transferred from one MFA program to another? I moved very far away because this school had the highest stipend to offer and because of how excited the faculty was and the respect I have for their work. I didn't visit. I didn't realize that it was a poor fit (location/highly academic/cohort/heavy teaching load) until arrival. The location is just wrong for me. I've been entertaining the idea of applying for Fall 2015. I just don't know how horrible of an idea it would be. I don't know how I could tell the faculty here. Hindsight is 20/20, unfortunately. I feel like a failure or a let-down. Other programs were closer and in areas that I know I love and I let them go. Is anyone else in this situation? Any words of wisdom?

• 4 weeks later...

I'm in a very similar situation, OP. I ended up coming to what I thought was my 'dream' school - great faculty, nice location, generous stipend. But it has become apparent in the past three months that the construct of the program itself paves the way for a miserable way of life. There is no way I can spend the next three years of my life here. I still very much want to get an MFA, but am wondering how to go about seeking a better route without coming off like a complete jackass. 

So, yeah, any insight as to how to best go about transferring schools would be great. 

• 3 months later...

I realize your post is several months old, but I am in a very similar situation, as well. Unfortunately, it's too late for me to transfer without wasting thousands of dollars. However, if you're still in this program and still feel the same way, please DO transfer to somewhere you would be happier and have a better academic fit. It's your life and your money. Don't worry what your profs./others will think. I know it's easier said than done...