SLP - emotionally draining?

Meen521

I've recently become really interested in SLP so I decided to shadow SLPs in a high school.

I now feel as though it's a really emotionally draining field. A lot of the kids are autistic and have behavioral impairments as well. It was really hard for me to watch one child on walkers barely able to communicate or understand what I was saying.

I worry that I won't be able to handle the emotional aspect of SLP. Has anyone ever felt this way? Can you offer some advice about this?

I love how the field is so rewarding, and I really want to help these kids, but I'm concerned about my own sensitivity. Would you think working in clinics or with younger children, it wouldn't be as difficult?

I think since I'm very new to this, I'm not as resilient. Maybe I'll "get used to it" as the years go by?

Thanks in advance for your advice!

I think like a lot of fields, it can be emotionally draining. As with anything, it depends on your attitude -- and not everyone can get their attitudes where they need to be. Why would a hospice worker choose that field? They want to make life easier for someone in their last days, they think the end of life can be beautiful, they feel called to do it. Some people have a great attitude about jobs that are super boring to other people (sprinkler repair sounds like torture to me, but my nephew loves it).

So, as an SLP working with students with major problems, you might find joy in the actual work, but also the connection, and in knowing that you've made a difference for them and their families, even if it's a small difference. Right now, you aren't making a difference, you're just watching. So maybe this will improve when you get more experience. This is so much variety in the field, so I think you just need to find an area that works better for you.