interested in religious studies

zena2014

I'm working on my application for graduate schools in religious studies. However I'm coming from doing my undergraduate in mathematics and a minor. I don't have much course work in religious studies. I also have no language background. I'm wondering what my chances of getting into a program will be? Will the fact I have a math degree work against me?

I'm working on my application for graduate schools in religious studies. However I'm coming from doing my undergraduate in mathematics and a minor. I don't have much course work in religious studies. I also have no language background. I'm wondering what my chances of getting into a program will be? Will the fact I have a math degree work against me?

In our field, there tends to be a natural gravitation from all walks of life. Mine was from pursuits in psychology and journalism, for instance. At no point do I think that cost me; therefore, I do not think that you have to worry about your math degree at all. That lack of language studies is to be expected for someone pursuing a master's. That said, you should pick up some grammar texts for the languages you want to study in and spend some time plunging in if you are able, that way you will be able to say on your statement of purpose that you have begun independent studies in Greek, Latin, German, or whatever. That will benefit you in the long run, because you will inevitably have classes or competencies to deal with down the road.