Total newb question

s_rez87

Sorry if this has been asked before. I asked 3 professors to write me a LoR and they all agreed. However, I have no idea what the next step is. They all told me to email them as a reminder and to include all the info of where and how to send them. One of the professors mentioned a website that they can upload and send to the universities I'm applying to.

Can someone please give me a simple explanation of how I'm about to go about this? Thank you.

Sorry if this has been asked before. I asked 3 professors to write me a LoR and they all agreed. However, I have no idea what the next step is. They all told me to email them as a reminder and to include all the info of where and how to send them. One of the professors mentioned a website that they can upload and send to the universities I'm applying to.

Can someone please give me a simple explanation of how I'm about to go about this? Thank you.

You'll want to check the section for graduate admissions on the departmental website for each of the universities to which you're applying--it'll specify whether they want paper letters (rare), letters uploaded through a third party document system (uncommon), or the letters uploaded by the recommenders directly to your online application (most common by far).

Usually what happens is once you start the actual online applications, there will be a section for "Recommendations" or "Recommenders" or something, where you enter and save your recommenders' contact information, including email address, and waive your right to see their letter (which you should waive!). Once you save that section of the application, it automatically sends emails to your recommenders with instructions on how to upload their letters.