Cambridge or Columbia

1fabi

University of Cambridge London or Columbia University (Teachers COllege)  

18 members have voted

1. 1. University of Cambridge London or Columbia University (Teachers COllege)

• University of Cambridge, MPhil Social and Developmental Psych
    • Teachers College COlumbia University, MA Developmental Psych

Hello All,

I have a Bachelor's degree from St. John's University in NY in Psych.

I applied for NYU, Teachers College and University of Cambridge in London. NYU denied me but thankfully, I got into COlumbia and Cambridge for an MA in Developmental Psyhchology and an MPhil in SOical and Developmental respectively. Both of the have offered me small funding.. However, Cambridge offered it a little later, so I had already made full preparations for Columbia. Apartment, Registered for classes, visited the campus, met with professors, made small down payment.

I know they are both great school, but which do I choose?

I have intentions of living either in the Caribbean (Trinidad) or in the US. Eventually I'd like to do some work in research, a little clinical maybe, academic work and advocacy for family issues.

I'm an American, so the work opportunities during grad school are better at Columbia, but am I giving up an amazing opportunity by saying no to Cambridge???

PLease offer some feedback. I really need the advice.

Thank You