How much to emphasize programming skills in statement of purpose?

jurniss

I am applying to Ph.D. programs in Computer Science at top 20 schools in the USA.

I have been working as a professional software developer since I completed my B.S. around 4 years ago.  My professional work has been at medium-large, well respected companies making shrink-wrapped software.  Serious projects, no enterprise web apps or anything.  But as a mere B.S. I have mainly been "wiring up" heavy algorithmic components written by my co-workers with Ph.D.s.  Talking to hardware, real time user interface stuff, graphics, moving large amounts of data quickly, but nothing really research-level theoretically. That is why I'm going back to school.

I got my undergraduate degree in math from a mid-level school. I did serious undergraduate research for a year, but only showed a poster at a small conference, no paper.  I feel that my research experience might be weak compared to other applicants'.

I'm thinking it will pay off to emphasize my programming skills because, as one self-help article said, the department is essentially hiring me to work for them.  I believe my software engineering and project management skills are better than the average applicant straight out of undergrad.  I know the C++ language well and have a very solid understanding of which language constructs lead to high-performing machine code.  I know how to plan my projects and diagnose problems so that I don't get stuck.  I spend a lot of time maintaining old code so I am careful to write code that will be easy to understand and modify in the future.

If someone gives me a paper and says "implement this algorithm," I feel that I will be able to do it quickly, independently, with good performance and production-grade code quality.  On the other hand, implementing algorithms from other people's papers won't get you a Ph.D.

How much of my personal statement should I devote to this topic?  How should I phrase it?