Masters in GEN PSY Fall 2010

johnmalcom

Hey folks,

I am an engineer 2003 pass out, working since, planning on a career shift towards Psychology. To be eligible for a PhD program, I am planning to apply for masters first. I am close to Florida State University and am planning to take three courses as a special student:

1. Gen PSY

2. Behavioral Statistics

3. Brain and Behavior

Any suggestions are welcome. Could any one point me to the good schools for a masters program. I have done some research and have come down to:

1. NYU

2. Boston College

3. SUNY Buffalo

4. Boston University

Are there any chances of getting a scholarship for an MA program.

And what about Canadian programs, are they good ? And do they accept non psych students. On the applications page every university mentions that non psych background students are welcome, but do they actually accept them.

Would I need to do something extra, to have a strong application.

Thanks.

Hi, johnmalcom.

In my Ph.D. program there are students who've entered with undergraduate majors in mathematics and physics. If you're coming with a strong background that includes science courses, you should be just fine. Your plan to supplement your current knowledge base with some core psychology and statistics courses is perfect.

Best of luck to you!

Hey John,