SOP for Masters Degree in Political Science

I just finished my SOP and now need advice, pointers, etc!  I majored in history and minored in poli sci as an undergrad, and as a result I haven't articulated any research questions.  I spoke with a professor and he said it wasn't necessary as I am only applying to a masters program. He said as long as I show in my SOP that I am engaged it will be fine.  We'll see.  Without further ado:

Dear XXXXX,

Thank you for considering my application for the Masters Degree in Political Science at the University of XXXX.  My interest in political science stems not only from its vigorous methods, but also because it elucidates the connection between government and people’s lives.  As a child I lived with my mother and two sisters in a dilapidated trailer park.  We, like most of our neighbors, were inextricably tied to the government through the receipt of welfare checks and free school lunches.  Through my intellectual development in college, I am better able to understand the politics of poverty, which, in retrospect, set the stage for my interest in political science.  
    The university of XXXX's political science program interests me because of its diversity of faculty in American politics.  I look forward to exploring a variety of interests in your program, though my primary interests are in constitutionalism, judicial process and behavior, and political economy. I hope to have the opportunity to study these topics under XXXXX, XXXX, XXXX, and XXXXXX.  Through your program, I plan to expand my knowledge of Political Science in preparation for future doctoral work.