Low GRE score in verbal

skarthikselvan

I took my GRE exam on May 2. I scored 720 in quantitative and 300 in verbal. I have 6 years experience in software engineering. I got 77.1% in my undergraduate degree and 3.58 out of 4.00 in M.S. (Computer Engg.). Currently I am doing M.Tech in Nano technology. I may score 240-250 in TOEFL, 45-50 in TSE and 700 in AGRE (computer science). I want to do Ph.d in Computer Science.

1) Can you recommend some universities

Guest someone

I don't know what department you are applying to, but I should warn you that at least in computer science the GRE is not taken very seriously (especially at top schools). MIT, e.g., refuses to look at them even if you send them. They're concerned more with previous research, letters of rec, statement of purpose, and grades (probably in that order).

Guest sunday

If you are applying to schools that DO take the GRE seriously you should retake it. It won't be too difficult to increase your verbal score if you have some time to study. You should also try to get your quant up to the high 700s for the schools you list.

I had the impression that the Verbal GRE is not taken very seriously for non-native English speakers if the TOEFL score is good enough, but still try to get a verbal score in the 400s at least (close to average). The Analytical writing is more important than the verbal, because as a graduate student you are expected to know how to write good essay/thesis/dissertation, so try to get at least a 4/6 in that.

However, since you'll be applying in an Applied Sciences, you'll need to get at least a 780 in the Quantitative, as most of the other applicants in the field will have a straight 800 in that. If you have a much lower than that, it might raise some eyebrows and it'd be difficult to explain away.

I would not worry much about the subject GRE, unless the schools insist on it. You can usually tell how much importance they place on this score by looking at their websites for clues.