American Studies v. English Literature

I'm not quite sure how to articulate this without sounded sacrilegious.

As an undergraduate, I studied English literature and philosophy. As you fellow literature and philosophy buffs know, it was a terrific and fruitful experience! Still, I am a bit torn about graduate school. During my undergraduate years, I presupposed that whichever subject(s) I chose to study, I would still go to graduate school. With that in mind, and before I truly developed an academic passion for my subjects, the simple logic was to immerse myself in the humanities as an undergraduate before I go on to graduate school to study something outside of the humanities. It was inevitable, though, that I would reach a point in academia where I may have to part with either English and (or) philosophy as I make my way into graduate school.

I applied to several graduate schools over the course of my last year as an undergraduate, and I am fortunate to say that I was accepted into all of them. I have spent more than enough time narrowing my decision, but I am still having some trouble finalizing it. My three choices include: English literature, American studies, or (the contrary) management of technology and engineering. Since I am posting in the humanities section, I wouldn't be surprise to receive an overwhelming amount of feedback that is devoid of the last option; however, I think it's something to seriously consider. As I said before, I'm uncertain about abandoning my study of literature, and I have also considered becoming a professor of literature or philosophy as a career. Yet, if I ultimately decide to not earn my PhD, I do not know which degree (English or American studies) can be more marketable. After all, both subjects are very similar, and I will be honing in on similar skills with each. It is that logic that leads me to believe that both degrees are practically synonymous.