From scratch...

LaMer

Hi Folks,

I've lurked awhile on these forums and am proud to be making my first post. Here's my story...

I graduated from a public midwestern university with a BA in Economics and Political Science and a Minor in Art History. My GPA was of the average variety - 3.1. I've been working in "high finance" since undergrad in NYC and also lived and worked in said field for 1.5 years in Mumbai, India.

Now, after 4 years in the workforce I want to go graduate school. I fancy myself an autodidact in Literature and Philosophy as I have developed a tremendous passion and informal education in these areas through my own study, etc. I also took the GMAT (for some reason) and received a 700 (low 90th percentile) - so I think my GRE should be okay.

I feel I've reached a saturation point with my solitary study, and would enjoy being back in an academic environment. So, I think an M.A. is what I want to get - particularly one of these interdisciplinary programs (MAPH, etc.) - but I'm so out of touch with Academia, haven't done proper academic research, etc, that I don't even know whether I could even stand a fighting chance of getting into MAPH @ UChicago or something equivalent? Or is there somewhere I should start? Should I take a stab at writing something? I am so clueless...

I would cherish any insight into any part of my dilemma from you guys. You seem to give great, practical advice. If I'm doomed to my solitary study, aka "the old fashioned grad school!", please do not hesitate to say so.

Cheers,

La Mer

I have a habit of being blunt, but there's no offense intended.