Tips for a new student?

EconSVSU

Hello everyone,

I am new here, so sorry if I am posting this is the wrong forum. 

I am 26 years old and about to start undergrad for the first time in the fall (when I will be 27). I know this is a grad school forum, but I have specific goals and know I want to attend grad school. As a complete newbie to the college world, I wanted to give some insight about my situation and goals, and ask some questions of people who might know how to help.

So I start this fall as an Economics Major at Saginaw Valley State University. I know I want to go on and get my masters and PhD after undergrad. I also know I want to stay in the state of Michigan, but I want to go to the most prestigious school possible. Right now my top 3 are the University of Michigan, Michigan State University, and Western Michigan University (in that order).

I have a few questions about this. First and foremost, with a clean slate as a totally new student, what should I be doing from day 1 to give myself the best chance of getting into the best grad school possible? Should I just be concentrating on grades? Courses? What exactly is the best way to prepare myself for my goals?

Secondly, where are the best resources on the internet for finding information about grad school rankings, entry requirements, and reviews? I would like to know as much as possible so I can take direct aim at the things I want to do.

Lastly, any other economics majors or graduates here that might like to offer even more specific insight? 

Thank you in advance for the help and I look forward to participating in this community!

Some of your questions are program specific, but to offer some general advice...

1. Do everything you can to maintain a high GPA.  This is most important in your subject matter courses, but try to keep everything above a "B".

- Don't do many "W" (withdraw) in courses or take incompletes that you cannot finish.