Decent GREs, Merely Average GPA...and a career change. Help?

Hi all,

I am hoping to get some opinions about my chances for admission and about some programs in particular for what I want to do (policy analysis). I am a bit worried about two things: letters of recommendation and GPA.

A bit about me:

GWU Class of 03 (Bachelor of Business Admin - Finance)

GPA: 3.22

GRE: 680 V / 780 Q

Applying for Fall 2010 admission to an MPP program

I've got six years of progressive experience at a top five financial services firm/investment bank, but I intend to return to school for my MPP and go into (eventually) finance policy analysis or program evaluation. I don't exactly have any non-profit experience and I hope to explain in my personal statements why I am making a change at this point in my career.

My GPA is definitely below the mean for the schools I am looking at (GSPP, GPPI, KSG, LSE, Wagner, SIPA). I understand that the admission committees say they look at things "holistically", but am I way out of my league here? On the positive side, I did do well in my quantitative classes in undergrad.

Because I've been out of school for so long, I really have no academic contacts anymore, so the recs make me nervous. I did take a grad level public policy course at GW this summer (which I loved, and in which I got an A), and I am hoping the prof will write me one. Would having only one academic reference disqualify me from these schools?

Also, for those who are more familiar with these schools, would you have any advice about which ones I might want to reconsider? I've heard SIPA is considered more for international studies and Wagner for non-profit/NGO type stuff, for instance. GSPP & GPPI seem to be more up my alley. However, I am pretty much going on what they have on their websites. I'd really like to get more anecdotal advice from you all (real live people!).