Pursuing MPA

Ari

Hello. I'm totally new to this forum, and I looked around for a little bit to see what's going on, so, hopefully this is the right place for my post/s.

(It would be good for the site to have some sort of "about this site" page to it, or a more visible one, as I couldn't find it)

I'm currently an undergrad student just about to start senior year. My GPA is probably not so good, it's below a 3.5. But I have a number of involvements in and around campus, including student government, a project do do development work in Africa, a very strong leadership development program, and a civic engagement component to that program... so my adviser has said I'm ok in that regard. But I'm still worried about my GPA : / It has taken me a very long time to figure out what I wanted to do, but I eventually settled on an IR major with Business Studies and Asian Studies minors. And about the last month of my junior year, I realize that I'd like to go into something like an MPA program. My adviser said that I need to show a strong senior year to show that I really am interested in getting a masters. It has taken me 3 full years of undergrad to go through everything and realize what I want to do, but I am pretty sure that MPA is what I want to do, and that it will be the right degree for my career. I'm also slightly considering a MPA/JD, but, I'm not sure if I want to get into that yet, and I'm also cautious about my grades for such a thing.

I'm figuring out a lot of things now in terms of how to go about applying to grad school, so, any advice would be appreciated. I still feel fairly new to understanding the whole process. I'm researching some grad schools right now, so I know that I'll be taking the GRE. And from what I've gathered from reading a few posts here, writing a strong "SOP" (statement of purpose?) is very, very important.

Any tips on things to keep in mind for pursuing an MPA or grad school in general would be appreciated.