Chances of being accepted

danvbh

Can anyone tell me if I have a good chance of getting accepted to one of the following schools for their Computer Science Masters program. My top choices are: Stanford, Berkeley, MIT, and Princeton.

I have a bachelors in Mathematics from University of Florida.

My GRE scores were 800 Q, and 730 V, and my undergraduate GPA was 3.43.

I have been out of school for several years now, so I am planning to ask my most recent employers to write recommendations for me, as opposed to my professors.

Can anyone tell me how youthink this will line up?

Thanks for your time!

It's hard to say without knowing more details about your GPA? Why is it so low? Is it weighted down by grades in math and science courses or is from classes in the humanities. If it is the former, you may have a hard time at a schools that highly ranked in the field. These programs usually yield about 600 applicants each, if not more, and the median GPA is usually around a 3.7, at least in my experience as a graduate coordinator at a similarly ranked EECS program.

Thanks for the comments. I have been working for 3 years as a software engineer doing research and development. I think my work and research experience will be an asset to me when applying, but I know my GPA is definitely below average. I made the mistake of working full time to pay my way through school, rather than taking a loan. I worked really hard at both, but my grades definitely suffered to a degree.

I've taken 15 credits of CS classes in undergrad. I have a 3.5 average in my CS classes, and a 3.46 average in my major (Math).

Is there anything I can do to strengthen my case? I think I did fairly well on the GRE. Does that weigh as much of a factor to them?

Thanks!