Apply this year or more experience?

mwg4

I graduated in 2008 (poli sci) from a top 10 US private university with decent stats for grad school: 3.79 GPA, GRE scores of 790 verbal and 790 quant, confident that I'll have good (but not incredible) recs ready. However, instead of going the normal professional or grad school route, I decided to move abroad to the Middle East and teach English at a private K-12 school for a couple of years in order to travel, learn some Arabic, and figure out what to do with my life. Now entering my second year abroad, I know that I want to go into international development, and so I am looking into MPP and MPA programs with a strong focus in that area (specifically HKS MPA/ID, SAIS, and SIPA). I also had a summer internship at an NGO (microfinance focus) in South Asia during college, and have done some volunteer work with a UN organization here in the Middle East. I know some colloquial Arabic, and am conversationally fluent in Spanish.

The question is, do I go ahead and apply this year for 2010 despite not having much directly related full-time work experience, or do I need to wait and try to get some solid NGO or nonprofit work under my belt? I feel that I'm ready for grad school, but I don't want to jump the gun and sell myself short when another year or two of experience could put me in a position to get into my first choices.

Thanks for any advice!

PS I did indeed read the thread about work experience a few down from this one (I hate people who ask questions that were JUST answered in the same forum), but it seemed to focus more on Stanford. I just want to find out more specifics about how important it is to have directly relevant work experience at the top East Coast ID programs.

Cheers.

Work experience = important, but you can get into schools with less than perfect W/E. Two things:

1) Schools look for diversity of experiences in their incoming classes, and your time teaching in the Middle East is certainly unique!