CS PhD USC vs. Harvard

blubb

Hi all,

I have two offers for my CS PhD studies and would like to have your suggestions. :-)

I'm an international student and I wonder what program might be better. Is there an obvious choice between the programs at Harvard and USC?

My POI at USC seems to advice a much larger number of students than the one at Harvard. This could be good or bad.

Also generally the name Harvard is better, but considering the name of the University in CS, I guess USC is much better.

Considering funding, the offers are equal and I guess locations are both not bad.

Any advice? All comments are welcomed! Thanks!

Edited by blubb

According to this, in CS Harvard is 18 and USC is 20:

http://grad-schools.usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/best-graduate-schools/top-science-schools/computer-science-rankings

Personally I'd go Harvard. That name will open doors that USC cannot. 

What type of research are you interested in? No guarantees that it's the research you'll *do*, but e.g. if you're interested in machine learning USC has more resources for that, while Harvard is stronger in theory (from what I've heard).

As far as the Harvard name, I agree that it will be more impressive to people in general, but as far as actual professional utility it seems to be more about who you know and the work you do. For example if you're looking for a summer internship at MSR it's probably going to happen because your advisor/someone you've worked with passes your name along rather than an HR person saying "ooh, look, Harvard".

So whichever place sets you up to do the best research you can with the least stressful funding is probably the right choice. I don't think either one is clearly better than the other right off the bat.

Cambridge and LA are also pretty different cities...

Edited by pascal_barbots_wager

Thanks for the comments so far.

Considering the ranking, I didn't find an information about how the score is calculated.

I am working in an applied field.