History undergrad considering poli sci MA/PhD

Joe001

Hello all. I have an undergraduate degree in History from Texas A&M but I am considering attending graduate school for political science. I am interested in comparative politics and international relations, specifically in the Middle East. I have taken some courses in poli sci, economics, and sociology (unfortunately no statistics). I have a good GPA, 3.76, and I am fairly certain I can score in the 1350-1450 range on the GRE (been studying a lot!). However, I don't have a BA in poli sci, I would have to learn Arabic, and I don't have any published papers nor could I get recommendations from poli sci profs so I'm worried about my chances. I would like to get into a PhD program, but would my chances be better if I went to a MA program to show that I can do advanced work in political science? Are there any MA programs you can recommend that are good for comparative politics and international relations (and are hopefully funded :mrgreen: ) ? Thank you.

• 4 weeks later...

I double-majored in political science and history as an undergrad. Obviously I went with political science for graduate school.

Political science at the undergraduate level has a a great deal of history involved (also sociology, economics, religion, psychology, etc). However, political science at the graduate level is an entirely different beast. A good portion of the history is removed. So, if in taking political science classes, the historical aspect is what peaked your interest, I don't know if political science at the graduate level would be the right direction to go. Perhaps a graduate degree in history focusing in political history would be a better idea.

Let me know if I can be more specific.

Good luck!