Switching Fields

urbsroma

Hey all,

Currently, I am entering my third year (1st post-MA at a new institution) of graduate work in the Classics. At this point in time, however, I am sensing my research interest beginning to change in new (and interesting ways) towards how ancient thinkers and ancient institutions have affected the development of modern political/democratic theory. As a result, I am not sure the best place for me to do the type of work I desire to is within a classics department (especially one that is very strong in literature and archaeology but has no faculty (either affliated or departmental) who specialize in the sort of issues I am interested in pursuing). All of this has led to consider leaving my department and applying for phd work in a political science department.

While I am reticent to lengthen my time as a graduate student, I also want to avoid being unfulfilled by the research out of which I will build my academic career (not to mention the depressingly sad state of academic opportunities as a Classicist at the moment). I have plans to stick this year out (the fellowship support I have at my current institution is very good) and make sure my interests continue to trend in this new direction before making any major decisions. Still, however, I wonder what you all would recommend should be my next step should I decide Classics does not fit. I have experience teaching Latin at a secondary level and, at the moment, see myself teaching for several years before reapplying to Poly Sci grad programs. Does this sound sensical, or do you think my application would be warmly received if I applied directly out of my classics program?

To help, here are some vital stats:

3.85 GPA, Magna Cum Laude, Phi Beta Kappa from a highly ranked liberal arts college.

4.0 GPA in my graduate program with a university-wide competitive fellowship at a leading public university.

Teaching experience at both a secondary and post-secondary level