a couple of questions re: my chances

Hey everyone, I was hoping for some advice!  I'm looking into applying for 2016 English MA/PhD programs and just started studying for the GREs. However, I'm already concerned about my prospects.

A quick rundown of my academic life story: I did dual undergrad degrees in English and psych at VCU, and although I did well enough in English classes (my major GPA is a 3.6) I was also doing failing pre-med on the side. My pre-med classes brought my overall GPA down to 3.0. I also did minors in British studies and creative writing, but my last two years focused mainly on psychology. I graduated in spring 2010 and went overseas to teach ESL, so I do have interesting life experience, I guess? I've traveled all over Europe and speak 3 foreign languages (2 fluently). I think my essay and fiction writing skills are strong but don't have publications.

So, my questions:

1.) How much will my GPA hold me back from getting accepted into a good program (if, let's say, my application is otherwise qualified)? Should I definitely drop the idea of applying to PhD programs and focus on MAs?

2.) What should I do for academic recommendations when I've been out of school for this long? The last lit class I took was in '08.

I'd really appreciate any advice/recommendations and thanks in advance!