Help: making the (career-changing) jump to CS

c1413d7

I'm 26 years old so time is a huge factor. I graduated with a BS in biochemistry from USC. I realized computer science is very interesting after working in a comp. biology lab for 3 years.

If my end goal is a PhD in CS, I understand that getting an MS (over a BS) in CS will open some doors. That said I will need to build my background in CS before applying.

My question is, can I take courses at a community college instead of a 4-year institution without jeopardizing my chances at a MS program? Does GPA matter more than the school where I took my CS courses? I ask because cost of attendance is drastically higher for the 4-year institution.

Additionally any advice for a career changer with hopes of getting a PhD will be greatly appreciated. Thank you guys.

I'm going through some of the same things you are. I did take some CS classes in undergrad but wasn't a CS major. I've been taking classes as a non-degree student at the local university, but I've done about as much as I can there. I still need 2 more classes (3 would be nice) before applying, and I'm headed across the country to take one of them this summer (it's hard to find upper level classes in the summer). Luckily the cost of this isn't a real issue for me.