Teaching Undergraduate composition

Nibs

So here's the thing. I got my Bachelors and my Masters in English Literature from a reputed university in India, and while the quality of teaching was top-notch, the organisation of both courses was very... informal. Though we had one very basic course on Rhetoric and Composition that covered things like scansion, for the most part we learned about academic writing on the job -- i.e, simply by doing it. We were never really formally taught about the different kinds of essays, or how to articulate thesis statements, and such. Our professors valued clarity and organisation of thought more than an adherence to formal modes/patterns. Essentially, as long as our essays had a clear beginning, middle and end, and managed to convey the point we were trying to make, anything went.

Now, I'm going to be doing an MFA course in the US that comes complete with a TA gig teaching undergraduate comp, and I confess I'm a little bit clueless about exactly what the syllabus for such a course would entail. I suspect I'm going to be learning most of the material for the first time alongside my students!

In short, I'd appreciate it if anyone could clue me in on what I could expect... some of the topics a course on undergraduate composition might cover, tips on grading essays, advice for first-time TAs... anything, really. I'm completely new at this!

Very few first-time US English lit grad students have taken a class in rhetoric/composition either. I tested out of it at my university, as do a lot of English majors. I also know there are schools--mostly private, elite colleges--that don't even offer rhet/comp classes. So, in other words, the people who end up teaching rhet/comp are often the ones who have almost no experience with it. 

That is to say that you'll be in good company. I was exposed to rhet/comp for the first time at my department's teacher orientation. A week later I was teaching it.