Help needed - MA in Dem, QMSS, or Law/PhD program

Paul Allen

Hi, this is my first time posting on this board, but I've been looking it over recently and I'm in need of some advice. I'm posting because I'm considering applying to MA programs in Sociology, Quantitative Methods, or Demography (I don't have any background in sociology classes-wise, no stats or methods classes) because I'm not sure if my profile is strong enough to get admitted to programs that interest me.

My interest is in migration, demography, and social policy/law. I have a BA in Poly Sci. (with a 3.3 overall GPA, don't know if this lowish GPA precludes me from any programs) and worked in an immigration law firm for the past couple of years and I'm currently on a Fulbright scholarship doing sociology research on visa programs in Latin American countries. I was all set to apply to law schools, but the change of scenery from working in the legal field to actually conducting research is making me second guess myself and I'm thinking of switching my focus towards sociology instead.