Attending UCLA this fall - housing options?

doctordolittle

Hi!

I'm an incoming socio-cultural anthropology graduate student at UCLA coming from India. A lot of people at UCLA have told me that it's more convenient to stay in graduate housing for the first year since it's close to campus and has all utilities. However, it seems really, really expensive so I'd like to look for other options before I settle for it. Or if you think that it'll probably be easier to stay in graduate housing, feel free to say so!

I'm not in the US so unfortunately, I won't be able to look for apartments myself. But if anyone has suggestions on how to find other students who have/are looking for shared apartments, that would be great! If anyone on the forum will be attending UCLA and is also looking for flatmate, do get in touch! I don't have a car and have never been to LA so I'd like to find a place that's not too far from campus and is along a bus route. 

• 2 weeks later...

Hi, congratulations on your acceptance. I stayed in the grad housing for a year, and it was quite expensive, and should have looked for my own housing (it was a Masters program, but I stuck around in LA for a few years).