For those who transitioned from full-time employment to PhD programs

esotericish

I've been working in the private sector for the last 3 years or so, after finishing my MA. I'm in a pretty demanding job right now, I work around 45-50 intense hours a week. I'm starting my PhD this fall, and I'm curious -- how did those of you currently enrolled who were in a similar situation find the transition?

I transitioned from teaching at a very intense inner-city charter school (easily 70+ hours a week) to graduate school. I had crazy time management skills from my full-time teaching experience, and for the first semester, grad school felt like a vacation, especially because I didn't have any teaching responsibilities. Actually, the most difficult thing was changing my lifestyle. I wasn't making a lot as a teacher, but I was living at my parent's home (so no rent) and all my extra income went toward fun and frivolous stuff. I moved across the country to an extremely expensive area, started paying rent, and had to manage this on a grad school stipend. I really had to learn to cut back, budget, and stick to it.

For me, the transition wasn't so bad.  Having worked full time before (2 years post-BA), it helped me manage my time and do my best to treat grad school like a "9 to 5" gig instead of procrastinating like mad as I did in college (I'm finishing my first year right now).  duran0 raises a good point - it can be challenging to adjust to not having disposable income.  All in all, I'd say it actually helps with the transition.  You're used to working and know how to structure your time.. you've also likely already had the experience of doing things like paying your own bills and managing a house/apartment.  I think you'll be fine.